Allotment Soup 2011


The new Clay oven at LEAF is used to bake fresh pizzas for Allotment Soup

Today was Allotment Soup day at LEAF community allotments on Herries Road, Fay and Nick were both there to talk to people about PXI-Space to Grow and the Parson Cross Park allotments. As well as different art activities there was lots of food and drink on offer from freshly squeezed apple juice from Abundance – to freshly baked pizzas using the new clay oven belonging to LEAF, and lots and lots of home made cake.

We were also treated to some music from the Karen Community Choir who sang a number of songs for us all. The Karen community come originally from Burma and many of them used to be farmers, and so the celebration of the harvest has a real significance to them. Here’s the words to one of the songs they sang for us:

“While the world looks upon me,

as I struggle along and they say I have nothing –

but they are so wrong.

In my heart I’m rejoicing, how I wish they could see,

Thank you Lord for your blessings on me.

I know I’m not wealthy, and these clothes are not new,

and I don’t have much money but Lord I have you,

and to me that’s all that matters, though the world may not see,

Thank you Lord for your blessings on me.”

Leave a Reply

